Volvo S70 Made from 1998 to 2000, this sporty model replaced the 850 sedan and instantly became a hit.

New Owner with Questions

Search this Thread

Old 02-23-2006, 03:27 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New Owner with Questions

Greetings all. I just purchased a used 1999 S70 AWD in silver, and after paging through the forum I still have a couple of questions that I need to ask. I am new to the Volvo world, but not new to modding cars or FI (My soon to be non-daily driver). So, my questions:

1. I have a CEL. I pulled the codes using the reader found here: OBD Diagnostics. I've used it on both my VW and Toyota with no problems before. Before pulling the code, the idle was hunting between 700~950 RPM. When I started the OBD application the dome light dimmed twice. This seemed odd to me. The code I pulled was P1171, which upon research looks to be the MAF. I cleared the code, and today it is running really rough. My wife, taking it to be emissioned, has called and said that upon turning on the car, shifting it into reverse or drive results in no movement. Putting it into neutral, then into one of the drive positions seems to get it working. Could this be the result of a bad MAF? Any other thoughs on what could be causing this?

2. I came across a post stating that the Throttle Body recall was extended to 200,000 miles. I also came across posts that stated the recall was to 10 years or 100,000 miles. Anyone have a link to a recall site that I can verify this?

3. I saw a post regarding the swapping of headlights from a C70. What is the difference between the two setups?

4. Dumb question: Where would a stock CD Changer be located in this car? I want to put one in, but I want to make sure that the mounting brackets and wiring are there first.

5. Any things or advice from anyone else?

Thanks!

Ian

Edit: One last question: Does anyone have a site that I can look up the VIN number and get the build information?

Old 02-24-2006, 03:51 PM