Volvo S70 Made from 1998 to 2000, this sporty model replaced the 850 sedan and instantly became a hit.

performance upgrades?

Search this Thread

Old 12-04-2007, 03:58 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default performance upgrades?

hello im a noob if you couldnt tell, and i am a volvo lover, they have been my only vehicles! although im only 18 and i have my first car still .
well i have a non-turbo 1998 S70 and i was looking through the forums and i saw that lots of people on here dont reccomend turbocharging the engine, i dont really want to get rid of my car, i love it too much i mean its my first car!! but i want it to go faster in a straight line, is there much that i could do to my car (without breaking the bank) to make it faster? im not planning anything soon but i am just wondering for future reference, if i cant i wont bother fixing up my handling and buying other parts for it.
thankyou so much for any help

Old 12-04-2007, 05:32 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: performance upgrades?

Don't put any more $ into your first car. Savor the memories. When it's time to get another one find a good used GLT or better yet a T5.

Remember, with gas prices where they are, speed isn't everything.

If you can't wait, a cheap small upgrade to a K & N air filter is quick and may add minimal benefits.

Rick

Old 12-04-2007, 10:33 AM
Super Moderator
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Put a K & N Airfilter in it, tint the windows, upgrade the stereo (if you are into that), nicer wheels?, rear spoiler (if it doesn't have one) and leave it at that. First of all you're only 18 and the less power you have the better off you are, because I don't care what anyone says, unless your last name happens to be Unser or Andretti, at 18 you don't have the driving experience to handle more powerful vehicles and secondly, the insurance will eat you alive.

The above is the expressed written opinion of the author and in no way reflects the way he drove at 18.

Old 12-04-2007, 10:47 AM