Volvo S80 A performance sedan that offers top notch luxury, outstanding handling and so much more.

2004 Volvo S80 2.9 suspension knock/rattle

Search this Thread

Old 03-24-2016, 11:17 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2004 Volvo S80 2.9 suspension knock/rattle

Vehicle is a 2004 Volvo S80 2.9 with 130k miles. I have been chasing this problem for several months now, and really don't know where to go next. Over bumps, you occasionally hear this knocking noise that I can only describe as a woodpecker rapidly banging against a metal surface. It is a pretty loud and substantial noise and seems to come from the front-passenger side wheel-well area. The noise is worse over lots of small road imperfections, rather than one large bump or pothole in the road. Brick roads in particular make it appear. Another symptom I've noticed is that there is a very loud clunk sometimes when pulling out of my driveway, but this only happens 2-3 times a month. It has never done that before during my 6 years of owning it.

I took the car into a Volvo dealer for diagnosis. They were unable to replicate the problem and I suspect they didn't really try hard to replicate the issue. Many online suggest to replace the sway bar end links, which I did myself with OE Volvo parts. Made absolutely no difference.

Then, I took it to an independent shop that specializes in suspension work and they were insistent on changing the entire strut assembly, which was quite expensive. They used new OE Volvo parts. The problem went away for a month and now it's back; sounds exactly the same as before.

Both shops and I have determined that the front suspension feels tight and there is no play when you try shaking the front tires. Any other suggestions?

Old 03-24-2016, 08:19 PM