Volvo S80 A performance sedan that offers top notch luxury, outstanding handling and so much more.

Front Shockes

Search this Thread

Old 05-21-2012, 05:32 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Front Shockes

Hell Everyone!
I am new to the Volvo Community, and of course this forum.

I recently bought a 99 S80 2.9 with 185K on it. The front shocks are shot, I called the local shop and the quoted me 682.00 to change them. This pretty standard?
My uncle has the spring compressor, would it be worth while to change them myself? Does it require a front end alignment to change them? THANKS!

Old 05-22-2012, 11:26 AM

Originally Posted by jared..mann
Hell Everyone!
I am new to the Volvo Community, and of course this forum.

I recently bought a 99 S80 2.9 with 185K on it. The front shocks are shot, I called the local shop and the quoted me 682.00 to change them. This pretty standard?
My uncle has the spring compressor, would it be worth while to change them myself? Does it require a front end alignment to change them? THANKS!
An alignment will likely be required.
You should price out the parts including new spring seats since they are notoriously bad on these cars. There are likely some other worn parts you would want to take care of at the same time.
I had a lot of front end parts replaced including struts and an alignment for about 1200. I may have been able to do it myself but wasn't comfortable working with a spring compressor and by the time I added up all the parts + having to pay for a full alignment anyway, the balance of labor $ didn't seem worth my time/effort factoring in all the bad things that can happen with a spring compressor if you don't (or even if you do) know what you are doing.

Old 05-30-2012, 09:21 PM