Volvo S80 A performance sedan that offers top notch luxury, outstanding handling and so much more.

Newb with ?s

Search this Thread

Old 01-27-2007, 01:28 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newb with ?s

Hello All,

I'm new here and this is my 1st post.
I'm thinking about purchasing a 1999-2003 S80 or S60 in the next 12 months. I've admired these cars on the road and recently decided to find out more about them before I make a final decision. I'll be trading in my daily driver 00 Chev Cav. w/ 100K to get one of these. I'm a Teacher and think it is a little more Teacher looking.

1 What are typical maintenance issues?

2 Cost of typical maintenance?

3 Can a DIY type of guy handle fixing issues or is it a Dealer-needy car? IE I'll try to fix it and stay within my budget before I go to a Stealership.

4 A lot of Volvos...(fill in your thoughts)

5 Why do you all like them?

6 What will Volvo do for me?

Anything else you'd like to say would be appreciated. I'm probably missing some important answers due to my limited questions. I'm a good reader so you don't have to be brief.
Thanks,
BLACK KRYPTONITE

Old 01-27-2007, 01:54 AM
Received 11 Likes on 7 Posts
Default RE: Newb with ?s

Don't get an s80 period. They drive like boats IMO.

Get a s70 or v70.

Old 01-27-2007, 02:08 AM

My boss has a S70. He likes it a lot. I don't really care for the body style. Something about the tailights on the 60s and 80 and the C Pillar make me really like these cars. I drive a Chevy Cavalier on a daily basis so a boat-esque drive might not be so bad. I'm really looking at adding 2 more doors and having something safe for my Wife and Son while still looking cool to me.

My other car (see homepage) is a 1996 Chevy Impala. It is a pretty big car so I'm use to driving something with size.
Name:  atl061.jpg
Views: 79
Size:  105.5 KB

Old 01-27-2007, 10:08 AM
Administrator
Received 40 Likes on 38 Posts

Do alot of research on this forum.
I would say to look for a 2002 or 2003 S60 or S80.