Volvo S80 A performance sedan that offers top notch luxury, outstanding handling and so much more.

Rough idle/miss, no power, NO CODES???

Search this Thread

Old 07-10-2010, 09:05 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rough idle/miss, no power, NO CODES???

I'm a noob to Volvos but not complicated cars. I'm trying to help out my neighbor with his '99 S80 2.9. My primary experience is with BMWs. I did a search and found this thread https://volvoforums.com/forum/showth...hlight=misfire which is just about exactly what I'm experiencing.

Initially he was experiencing surging and stumbling which I immediately flagged as a potential ETM problem after a little bit of Googling. By the time he got the car to me it wouldn't even idle. It would surge, bounce a bit and stall. Once it cooled it would idle very poorly but not rev past about 2k. I pulled the ETM and found a significant amount of build-up of varnish and a very sticky throttle plate. I cleaned it all up but the sticky plate persisted. It seemed to have a bad bearing or some other internal issue that the return spring couldn't overcome. I reinstalled it to see if the cleaning would have any effect and it actually did idle a bit better. But the stumbling and lack of revs persisted.

I picked up a used but known good ETM from another '99 S80 2.9 in hopes that would be the quick fix. Well it wasn't. It DOES idle quite a bit better when cold and also revs much smoother with less "gaps", but it's still not right. It also worsens as it warms up. The thing that's killing me through all of this is that it's not throwing any codes whatsoever and there's no MIL. I'm completely in the dark here. Is there something I'm missing? Is there anything else aside from the always popular ETM that would cause this? I'm assuming it's stuck in limp mode since it won't rev past 2,000 RPM.