Volvo S80 A performance sedan that offers top notch luxury, outstanding handling and so much more.

Speed chip?

  #1  
Old 11-29-2007, 08:21 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location:
Posts: 8
Default Speed chip?

How do u remove the speed limit chip or make it have a higher speed?
Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 11-29-2007, 08:27 PM
tech's Avatar
Administrator
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 36,351
Default RE: Speed chip?

Volvo has a secret software that could do it but most of the time they won't sell it to you.
 
  #3  
Old 11-29-2007, 08:29 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NOYB
Posts: 6,192
Default RE: Speed chip?

There is no need for you to do this.
 
  #4  
Old 11-29-2007, 08:29 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location:
Posts: 8
Default RE: Speed chip?

i am thinking about geting this would it be wroth it and good?
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eB...47871&rd=1
 
  #5  
Old 11-29-2007, 08:33 PM
tech's Avatar
Administrator
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 36,351
Default RE: Speed chip?

Bad news don't buy.
 
  #6  
Old 11-29-2007, 08:34 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location:
Posts: 8
Default RE: Speed chip?

why?
 
  #7  
Old 11-29-2007, 08:38 PM
tech's Avatar
Administrator
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 36,351
Default RE: Speed chip?

Your car is very unique.
It would need a special program downloaded into it.
The computer is programed to the car.
 
  #8  
Old 11-29-2007, 08:40 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NOYB
Posts: 6,192
Default RE: Speed chip?

ORIGINAL: BIGJDOG15

i am thinking about geting this would it be wroth it and good?
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eB...47871&rd=1
I agree with TECH. BAD NEWS.

Do not buy this item. It is cheap, doesn't work and is a scam. If you want an ECU upgrade you go to real ECU tuners. Such as Inmotion, SpeedTuning USA, Upsolute, BSR PPC, RICA and IPD USA. Yeah they cost money, but they work and you get the research and development behind it too. That EBAY crap is exactly that CRAP.
 
  #9  
Old 11-29-2007, 10:00 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Burlington, ma
Posts: 1,129
Default RE: Speed chip?

what one say here.... You get what you pay for lol...


isnt the s80 rated to go 150 mph? well from what I read online here and ther that it is limited to 150, is that really true?
 
  #10  
Old 11-30-2007, 12:19 AM
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 26
Default RE: Speed chip?

My '01 T6 is limited at 130 mph. With a chip upgrade from the companies S70Driver listed, the top speed limiter is increased. I'm not sure how much though.
 
  #11  
Old 11-30-2007, 02:38 AM
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Burlington, ma
Posts: 1,129
Default RE: Speed chip?

i dont think its limited to 130, because I hav passed that in my 01 s80 t6
 
  #12  
Old 11-30-2007, 03:37 PM
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 26
Default RE: Speed chip?

ORIGINAL: gordon368

i dont think its limited to 130, because I hav passed that in my 01 s80 t6
really? i've never been able to get past it, and it stops at like 4.3k rpms in 4th gear so there's plenty of power left, what have you gotten it up to?
 
  #13  
Old 11-30-2007, 08:09 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Burlington, ma
Posts: 1,129
Default RE: Speed chip?

135... But i still had room to go, and more over I just read a few links that its rated to 150...maybe i might be lookin at some bad sources?

What State are you from?
 
  #14  
Old 12-01-2007, 03:58 AM
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 26
Default RE: Speed chip?

Illinois, but I didn't buy the car new, I think it came from Massachusetts or somewhere on the east coast.
 
  #15  
Old 02-21-2008, 03:31 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location:
Posts: 8
Default RE: Speed chip?

i recently got mine to 125 and i bet i could of gotten higher but i started to slow down because i needed to exit the highway soon
 
  #16  
Old 02-21-2008, 03:51 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Burlington, ma
Posts: 1,129
Default RE: Speed chip?

well. my car came back from the delearship recently, and I thought Id give the car a good run down a super long straight Highway....It's true the car is limited to 130 mph, they had to reload software in my car I Think that did something so I couldnt get it to 135 and beyond lol...rats
 
  #17  
Old 02-22-2008, 02:27 PM
fs's Avatar
fs
fs is offline
Member
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Nor Cal
Posts: 62
Default RE: Speed chip?

I've had my 99 t6 up to 148/49 and I let off cause I got scared. I'm guessing the speed limiter depends on where the vehicle was delivered new. Mine went to CA USA

Mine could go faster I guess, I'll never know cause that was pretty scary.
 
  #18  
Old 05-29-2008, 04:18 PM
Junior Member
Join Date: May 2008
Location:
Posts: 4
Default RE: Speed chip?

I have an 01 T6 and it was originally delivered in CA. I have had occassion to notice the speedometer read 125 but it didn't seem to be at the top end yet. (Still about 1000 left on tach before Red). I had heard of a power boost chip in a c70 that increased the up front torque or boost. I thought about looking for something like, what wopuld they cost to do at a proffessional tunning shop?
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
mathieu_p
Volvo 850
3
01-19-2013 02:06 PM
itr
Volvo 240, 740 & 940
13
11-22-2010 07:05 PM
sdc2000
Volvo 850
10
06-29-2009 04:52 AM
parrym
Volvo 240, 740 & 940
3
11-07-2004 11:30 AM
Keggy
All Other Volvo's
4
05-11-2003 01:01 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Speed chip?


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.