Volvo S80 A performance sedan that offers top notch luxury, outstanding handling and so much more.

Upper engine torque mount

  #1  
Old 05-19-2006, 09:05 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 9
Default Upper engine torque mount

Took the S-80 in for the fan recall today and they gave her the once over. Their mechanics there found a broken upper engine torque mount? What and where is this? Can you fix it at home? Can the part be gotten from an auto parts store? Rather do it myself than give them my money.

Thanks.
 
  #2  
Old 05-19-2006, 09:17 PM
tech's Avatar
Administrator
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 36,351
Default RE: Upper engine torque mount

One can be bought here.
http://www.ipdusa.com/ProductsCat.as...606&RootID=629

If it is a T6 then it is a little work. If it is a Non-turbo then it is easy to replace.
 
  #3  
Old 05-19-2006, 09:37 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 9
Default RE: Upper engine torque mount

Cool, that part states it is for :

Models Years Engines Description Part # Price Sale lbs.
S60, V70 2001-05 engine stabilizer mount 2001-05 WS2B1880 $26.00 1.1000 BUY

This thing fit the 00 S 80. The lower pic looks to be the correct one.

HA and the stealer wants $ 111.00
 
  #4  
Old 05-19-2006, 10:11 PM
tech's Avatar
Administrator
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 36,351
Default RE: Upper engine torque mount

That should fit no problem. You might want to call to make 100% sure. If you just buy the bushing yes it will work. The only difference between the S60,V70 and the S80 on the mount are the mounting screws. One is wider than the other.
 
  #5  
Old 06-10-2006, 10:00 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 9
Default RE: Upper engine torque mount

Got it and installed it with no major issues. Back bolt on the mount was a BIATCH but other than that cake. IPD component much better then OEM.

Thanks tech.
 
  #6  
Old 06-10-2006, 11:31 PM
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location:
Posts: 11
Default RE: Upper engine torque mount

I have seen a few cars come in and are on there 3rd mount have them going out every 40k the after market ones i have never seen one go bad yet.
 
  #7  
Old 06-11-2006, 11:38 PM
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location:
Posts: 38
Default RE: Upper engine torque mount

On my 01 T6, the upper torgue mount was shot, took 13$ and change from Drivewire.com and the ueorthane two piece was a pain to put in, but works like a charm. Hope it was the same pice and this helps.
 
  #8  
Old 09-12-2009, 09:20 AM
Junior Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 15
Default Polyurethane Torque Stabilizer

Richard74,
I looked on drivewire.com and couldn't find the two piece bushing set. I have went through 3 rubber ones so far and I want to get the stronger polyurethane version.

tech,
Are there other parts I should be checking that could cause premature failure of the torque stabilizer? The dealership replaced the first three under warranty, so i would assume they would have thought of this but you never know.

Any insight is appreciated
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
jg1
Volvo S70
11
02-07-2016 04:26 PM
Catimann
Volvo 850
12
07-18-2013 03:40 PM
89bowtie
Volvo C70
2
11-03-2009 12:17 PM
00XC
Volvo XC70
1
01-03-2007 04:09 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Upper engine torque mount


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.