Volvo S80 A performance sedan that offers top notch luxury, outstanding handling and so much more.

Volvo S80 - A Few Questions

Search this Thread

Old 02-21-2012, 06:43 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Volvo S80 - A Few Questions

Hello,

First and foremost, I am new to this, and do not know that much about cars. I am a female also, so when you explain things to me, I may ask for clarification. Just wanted to point that out to begin with.

I bought my first car at 22. Its a Volvo S80, year 2000. Lovely interior, and it is beautiful, but it has a few things wrong with it, and I wanted to see what you all thought might be done to lower costs and such with repair.

Bought it for $3,000 from a private sale, as-is dealer.
Took it to Midas, who said it needed a new ball-joint and control arm.
Took it to Meineke for a second opinion from my friend Kevin, and he said that yes, it needs the control arm, and ball-joint repaired as well as the front break-pads, but the issue is the oil leak, without the oil leak being fixed, because oil is caustic, I would be in for repairs repeatedly.
Took it to Firestone to get the oil leak checked out -- they said it needs around $1100 in repairs -- their exact words were:

Repair:
Gaskets: Engine
- Valve Cover Gasket Leaking Badly, j8 valve cover gasket set
remove and replace valve cover gasket

- Timing Belt: Cam and Crank Shaft Seals leaking very badly, might damage engine if continued driving.
95319 Timing Belt: Remove and Replace Timing Belt, Remove and Replace Camshaft Oil Seal, Camshaft Sprocket, Crankshaft Sprocket, and Timing Belt Tensioner.

- System Failure: Required?

- After these are fixed: Needs front break pads, and a new right control arm with balljoint repaired. Not worth fixing until the oil leak is fixed... thats what he said...

Can anyone explain to me what these are, and if these truly are bad things? Also, is it cheaper to to take to volvo dealer?

The Car has 81,000 miles on it, and is in good condition.