Volvo V70 Super capacity, super looks, super performance... this wagon turns heads and can still get the job done.

engine problems

Search this Thread

Old 05-15-2006, 10:33 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default engine problems

Thanks to all readers in advance! I am new at both posting notes and Volvo's here's my tale.

My friend has a V70 T5 Wagon with a 2.3 liter five cylinder motor. He has had it for sale for several months for about $12,000.00 dollars and has had few takers till this weekend when one of his co-workers decided he may be interested and took it for a test drive. When he returned the low oil pressure light was on an their was a noise in the motor. After hearing my friends tale of whoa!, I found out he had problems with this car in the past, and the dealer had installed a new set of oil pump seals under warranty last year. The dealer also said the motor should be flushed because of a "sludge" build-up, which my friend was sorry to say was never done. The car was taken to the local (not a Volvo Mechanic) garage and upon inspection with out opening the car up, was told that the car had spun a piston rod bearing based on the sound alone. Fearing further damage I have not heard the "hell of a noise and squeak" which I and he was told was the bearing spinning on the journal. In the hopes of not putting good money after bad maybe some of you guys can help or make some suggestions to the following questions. Again all thanks for your time and help.

1) Can you replace one rod bearing with the motor in the car, like I have done in the past on older model cars.

2) Good sources for both rebuilt or new motors.

3) Other causes for lowerend knocks peculiar to this motor which could mimic bad bearing knock.

4) Feasability of a shade tree mechanic pulling off an engine swap ( I know it depends on level of expertise, but assuming I am quailified are there special tools that only a Volvo mechanic would have that would make this swap more difficult).