Volvo XC90 This mid-sized SUV offers the driver and passengers Volvo luxury and quality with sport utility capability.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2004 XC90 - Both Brake Lights Out

Search this Thread

Old 08-18-2009, 06:34 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy 2004 XC90 - Both Brake Lights Out

Hello,

Newbie here, but not new to playing with cars. I recently tackled replacing the fuel pump on my XC90 (known leaking issue). Everything went just fine, but I'm stuck on an issue "after" I put everything back together. I had the battery disconnected, but reconnected it to be sure the pump/lines sealed and I had no leaks. Once I was all done, I put all the seats back in and here is where the problems started. I got a SRS Alert which was my fault. The center seat SRS sensor was disconnected when I reconnected the battery and tested the pump. Here comes the SRS error code. Ok I knew I'd have to get to the dealer to reset it. But the real problem is I now have a fault code of "Check Stop lights". It seems "both" left and right stop lights don't turn on but the center bar does. All other lights/functions on the entire car are perfect. I checked the fuses and none were blown, so I am suspecting its the relay in the left rear compartent. But I can't find a diagram to tell me which relay is for the brake lights. Or is it possible I may have dislodged one of the connectors under the seats when I worked on the pump? I checked those and found nothing wrong. Just got back fron Volvo and they charged me $75 to reset the SRS code, but they wanted $300 to $400 to figure out the stop light issue. They weren't kidding so I said no thanks. I mean I didn't touch any electrical connectors in that repair except what was needed for the fuel pump. Any suggestions? I even asked Volvo to provide me with the diagram for the rear compartment relays to test the stop light relay (I have a spare), but they said "Oh, we lost that page in the service book". I take that as a pay me my $300 and I'll