New to Volvos... 740 Engine Interchange Question

Search this Thread

Old 05-04-2009, 09:27 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to Volvos... 740 Engine Interchange Question

I'm the standard person who joins a forum cuz I can't find the specific info I'm looking for. I have tried some searching, but don't really know where to start because I'm new to Volvos.

Here's what I have: 86 740 Turbo Wagon (engine vin code 87), with a thrown rod (yes, I know it is because there is a 2"x2" hole in the block). I have been looking at 2 different engines, and don't know if/why not they will be a good fit. The first is a turbo engine out of a 93 940. The dealer said that it won't match up because of the ignition system. The other is a non-turbo engine out of an 86 740.

The dealer told me that the only engines that I can use are an 85-87 turbo motor out of 740 or 760. All turbos (in my year range) came with the AW71 trans, so I know that much will bolt up. I don't know the condition of the head on mine yet, so I'm looking for a whole engine. I know that from turbo to non-turbo, I would have to change the entire intake/exhaust manifold assemblies.

So my questions: Out of the 86 non-turbo and 93 turbo engines, what are the reasons that they will or will not work in my 86 turbo application? Is there a difference in block for the turbo and non-turbo? Can the ignition stuff from the 86 turbo be put onto the 93 turbo engine?

Thanks very much for the help,
Jason

Old 05-04-2009, 10:19 AM

I believe you could use a later motor, probably with some minor mods.

Old 05-04-2009, 10:35 AM

Originally Posted by tedv
I believe you could use a later motor, probably with some minor mods.