New here, odd noises coming from engine??

Search this Thread

Old 04-01-2016, 03:08 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question New here, odd noises coming from engine??

I've been driving my '98 V70 for a little under two years now and have been entirely satisfied.
We have had to do a few parts replacements due to normal life time wear.

However, recently I've been having some issues.

1) There is a persistent whine coming from the passengers side of the hood while driving. It is not affected by engaging the gas pedal, but does get more intense as the car speeds up, even when coasting.

2) When the car is idling there is a ticking noise that didn't used to be there.
The "tick" happens about every 5-10 seconds and accompanies a slight change in how the engine as a whole sounds. When the hood is open the noise seems to be coming from the visible belts in the left side of the engine compartment, near the power steering reservoir.

3) The coolant and engine oil levels are not lasting as long as they should be.

4) About 10 times in the past two months the car has been reluctant to start. We just had the battery replaced and it's not making the tell-tale noises (I've had alot of dead battery experiences). The car makes a very quiet almost wooshing noise, as if the engine is trying to catch but is missing a component. Only once did it start and then immediately die and start back up again.

My knowledge of cars is slightly better than most young women and their first vehicles however, it is still pretty basic. I know that all of these things (along with the rather broad descriptions) are very general I am hoping that it might be something obvious to a well-versed car lover.

Any ideas or advice helps!
(Even if it is just "go ahead and take it to the mechanic" )

Thanks so much!!

Old 04-01-2016, 09:25 PM
Received 41 Likes on 40 Posts