Canada, Over Seas & Elsewhere Not from the states? Everywhere else post here.

Anyone using Volvo's onboard nav system in Toronto?

  #1  
Old 07-06-2014, 07:46 AM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 4
Default Anyone using Volvo's onboard nav system in Toronto?

I just got a '15 XC60 T6 in the Platinum trim (which includes navigation) but was bewildered that the nav could not find several major streets. Then I discovered that the nav system's database regarded "Toronto" as the "old" city of Toronto prior to the 1998 amalgamation. In order to find streets in the former boroughs (Scarborough, North York, East York, Etobicoke, etc.) the user must enter the name of the borough in the "city" field. Given that these boroughs ceased to exist as legal entities sixteen years I expect that some newcomers (and most visitors) would have never heard of them.

This makes absolutely no sense and renders the nav system virtually useless to anyone in Canada's largest city.

Am I missing something?
 
  #2  
Old 07-10-2014, 09:54 PM
DHK
DHK is offline
Junior Member
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 8
Default

Hi, I'm from the US, and used the Nav system in Toronto in May with no problem that i remember... only used it to get to a hotel on Richmond St. East, if that helps you at all. The rest of the time we walked!
 
  #3  
Old 07-13-2014, 07:24 AM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 4
Default

Originally Posted by DHK View Post
Hi, I'm from the US, and used the Nav system in Toronto in May with no problem that i remember... only used it to get to a hotel on Richmond St. East, if that helps you at all. The rest of the time we walked!
Thanks for that.

Yes, Richmond Street is in the "old" Toronto.

But I wonder if your navigation system can find city streets such as "Mortimer" or "Milner".
 
  #4  
Old 07-13-2014, 04:39 PM
DHK
DHK is offline
Junior Member
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 8
Default

No joy. I just installed the 2014 Nav updates last weekend (the subject of another thread: they say you have to keep the car running for 5 hours. I went on a 4+ hour road trip so gave it a go, and it did take 4:50. There are 3 dual layer DVDs. I've heard that if you stop in the middle it will pick up again, but didn't want to try it.)

Anyway, it couldn't find Mortimer or Milner street in Toronto.
 
  #5  
Old 07-20-2014, 11:09 AM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 4
Default

Originally Posted by DHK View Post
Anyway, it couldn't find Mortimer or Milner street in Toronto.
Are you able to input a cross-street in the "junction" field of your nav system?

On mine it is grayed out / disabled. It does not matter whether I am looking for a junction in Canada or the USA.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
rockspop
Volvo 850
2
11-18-2010 09:18 AM
Striker
Volvo S70
6
04-20-2010 08:13 AM
midlife crisis
New Members Area
4
03-30-2008 07:54 PM
fast850r
Volvo 850
7
08-11-2005 01:04 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Anyone using Volvo's onboard nav system in Toronto?


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.