General Volvo Chat Post Your Questions And Comments on any of Volvo's many models.

Volvos... Good First Cars?

Search this Thread

Old 03-22-2006, 01:55 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Volvos... Good First Cars?

Hello,

To start off, I' 17 and own a 1994 Ford F-150. The thing never fails to amaze me. In bad ways, that is. If I am just driving through the city, the beast of a vehicle will amount to about 5 - 7 MPG, depending on how absolutely sluggish I want to drive. Scared to scale a 70 mile trip to Fullerton, CA this weekend with the bed filled, I somehow magically got 13 - 15 MPG highway. Amazing. It can't hold itself around town, but somehow retains posture in a straight line. I'm a city driver, and obviously, the 5 MPG has to go. Not to mention its nearly the biggest model that could be bought, and I never use the bedspace.

So I've been lookin' around. I can get $3800 KBB for the F-150, and I will be getting money when I graduate. I assume in all my earnings I wont top $5000, and I don't think a first car should really even be any more, since the statistic says I'm going to crash it anyways. Which is why I want a Volvo. I want a smooth safety transition; obviously the truck does feel safe, so I want to keep that feeling. Should I be considering a Volvo, though? My truck has 93,333Mi, and I was hoping to keep around that number, although it looks like its going to be between 120,000 and 145,000. I mean, would it still be worth it? I need it get through college (4 years), and I don't think I'd be amounting to the yearly avarage in miles. But I would want the repairs to be minimal, and the costs to be cheaper than not. Really, If not a Volvo, I'm lookin' for something fun, that has a backrow of seats, and is not built with bubblegum and pianowire (no rattling plastic parts!).