92 940GL will not start

Search this Thread

Old 09-14-2011, 09:19 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 92 940GL will not start - Success!

I just purchased a 1992 940GL with 180K. The problem is that it sat in the garage for two years and now has "I've been sitting for two years" problems. The previous owner stated that when he parked it in the garage two years ago it was running fine but now it doesn’t go into gear. This was a known problem to me. It started up and ran fine when I first looked at it two months ago. Now I have more issues that will need to be addressed... here is where I need HELP!

Now I can't get it started... I pulled plug #1 no spark and it was all carboned up. Pulled plug #2 and the wire came out of the socket... oops! I figured stop here and go get some parts...

Here is my list of parts purchased to date...
New wires and plugs
Rotor and cap
Ignition coil (funny looking thing... not the round one)
Fuel Filter (tank was very close to empty)
Oil and filter
Transmission oil and filter
I plan on getting everything installed tonight so I will update then.

I did check the codes and all I got was 1-1-1 in both socket 2 and 6. I'm looking for any words of wisdom on anything else I should be looking at or checking? Also, I've had no luck finding a repair manual for this car... any idears where i can get one?

Your input is greatly appreciated.
John

Last edited by JohnCst; 09-21-2011 at 05:29 PM.
Old 09-15-2011, 06:42 AM
Received 41 Likes on 41 Posts

I think your list is pretty good. Plugs, wires, distributor cap, rotor, fuel filter. I would hold off on ordering a new coil unless you have confirmed it is bad. I have never had one fail on me on a Volvo (or any other car for that matter).

Although the tank was nearly empty, I would still drain it prior to putting new gas in it. Install the new parts and then troubleshoot just like any other no-start condition. Confirm spark, confirm fuel delivery. If either is missing, troubleshoot from there.