College Student Needs HELP with his 240 Radio

Search this Thread

Old 04-19-2011, 07:07 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation College Student Needs HELP with his 240 Radio

Hello everyone,
I'm new here so I just wanted to quickly introduce myself. I'm a college student studying history in Central Florida. I decided to buy myself a 1993 Volvo 240 based upon their reputation for reliability and rock-solid construction. The car had been neglected (and I picked her up for a song), and needed a bit of work, but a few grand later from the Volvo store made her like new. All she needs now is a new coat of paint.

The problem that I'm having is in regards to the factory OEM TD-613 cassette/radio unit. I recently purchased new speakers for the vehicle, but upon installation, the tech told me that the sound on the right driver's side speaker was intermittent. When you fiddle with the volume ****, pulled out as if to correct balance, you can get audio from, that channel. Also, if you depress the volume **** in all the way, the sound in that channel comes out perfectly fine. Now, the audio place where I had this done wanted me to install a new head unit, which would require taking out the dash and bypassing the OEM amp. As a cash strapped college student, and what with what I had already laid down for the four speakers, I turned the offer down.

I was thinking that an electrical connection cleaner could be sprayed behind the volume ****, and into that crevice behind it. I was wondering if that might help my issue.

I would appreciate ANY suggestions or word of advice from fellow Volvo owners or enthusiasts. I'm really in dire straits if I have to lay down the sum to replace the radio and get a new head unit. I'd have to content myself with just three channels of clear audio.

Old 04-19-2011, 08:06 PM
Super Moderator
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts