Hi everyone, new member w/general questions

Search this Thread

Old 02-23-2008, 12:39 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hi everyone, new member w/general questions

Hello,
I recently picked a 1989 Volvo 740 GL as a second car. I got it pretty cheap and it's in overall great shape. Only things wrong with it are some minor cosmetic blems and the left rear taillight lens is cracked and the right front turn signal is missing - both of which have already been ordered. It has a little over 181,000 on the clock. It runs perfect, so I picked it up as a steady commuter. So, onto my questions. What weight oil should you run in these 4 bangers, given the mileage? Also, what problems or gremlins are these cars prone to? I am taking it in for an alignment and new tires soon also, so are there any other little known maintanaince issues with these cars I should know about?

Thanks, Chef

Old 02-23-2008, 03:53 PM
Default RE: Hi everyone, new member w/general questions

welcome home, I'm a chef too, soon you will be a mechanic also.
Mine is a 1990 740 wagon. Had it 2 yrs now, 200K miles.
First, buy some tools. Metric sockets and wrenches.
They are VERY simple to work on.
Volvo's are great quality cars but they have to be maintained.!
Get a haynes manual .

Knownpotential areas are ;
the japanese made speedo, $50 on ebay.
fuel pump relay $25
Fuel injector relay $25
ceiling fabric comes loose due to faulty glue.
RPM sensor (on top of bellhousing) suffers heat damage, ez $29 fix.

Oil breather system must be maintained to prevent crankshaft main oil seal blowout.
If you have oil blowby on top of the valve cover the oil trap and flame trap system needs attention pronto or the main oil seal can pop. Heres a diagram, its located beneath the intake manifold.
http://www.fcpgroton.com/volvo700900oiltrap.htm

Timing belt ought to be changed every 40K miles, simple $12 job.
Like any other car, balljoints, fuel pumps etc will all wear out.

Good cheap parts source is FCP.