MAF sensor or something else??

Search this Thread

Old 11-03-2013, 02:56 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default MAF sensor or something else??

1991 volvo 240

I'm no slouch when it comes to cars and diagnosing problems, but being that I'm new to OBDI Volvos, I want some reassurance.

A while back I got the overdrive working by replacing the kickdown cable. This morning, the orange shift arrow appeared on the dash and the car began to idle very rough and lurch at stop lights like it was going to die. I was able to pull into a gas station and pop the hood, my first instinct was to unplug the MAF sensor because it had been problematic in the past. The car instantly idled better and would no longer stall at stops, however, the overdrive is not working again, and I know that all of the hardware for it is in working order. Every time I reconnect the MAF the car idles rough and eventually dies. I'm assuming the MAF is shot because I cleaned it with no luck, and this is causing the overdrive not to work. Any feedback??

Old 11-03-2013, 03:17 PM
no mo volvo
Received 101 Likes on 94 Posts

the OD circuit is completely seperate from the ECU and MAF. OD is simply pushbutton to OD relay to light and solenoid. when the light is lit, the solenoid is OFF, and when the light is off, the solenoid is ON. when the solenoid is ON, then the transmission is allowed to shift into OD when it feels the need based on hydraulic pressure.

MAF faults will usually throw an OBD-1 code on a LH2.4 car (1989 non-turbo and 1990+ everything). The ultimate test for the MAF is to swap it with another car thats working fine. if the other car has the same symptoms and your car is now fine, then give the guy his good MAF back and get yourself a new one off brand MAF refurbs are sketchy, some work, some don't, some fail young.

Old 11-03-2013, 03:28 PM