New to Volvo, have 745 Turbo questions

Search this Thread

Old 05-03-2010, 07:38 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to Volvo, have 745 Turbo questions

Hi all,

I have a lot of Mercedes Benz and some BMW knowledge, but I am totally new to Swedish Steel. I do learn quickly though.

I am looking at a 1991 745 Turbo ( see I already know the wagon version of the 740 is a 745)

It is at a used car lot.

I am wondering if you guys have a checklist of things to look over when inspecting the car.

On a MB things like the climate control, window lifts, and rear glass are problematic.
I am looking for things I would not necessarily think of.

The car has 132K on the odometer and looks like the body is in good shape - no visible rust in the pictures, looks pretty straight, etc

What should I look for in the engine room?

Any gotchas under the rear carpets?

How is the wiring in these cars?

etc, etc...

I am buying this as a college commuter car for my son who will be doing 60 miles round trip it it a day. This is almost all highway.
He also wants to go kayaking so I figured the wagon body style would be best.

I would rather he be in a Volvo than in a Jeep or other small SUV.

Thanks a lot!

Joe

Old 05-03-2010, 08:17 AM

Hi Joe,
I am also new to these cars, I just purchased a 945T wagon. I have previous Saab and VW experience, but not Volvo...

They seem to be fairly simple cars. From what I know, just check for any Oil leaks, from what I am told the distributor seal on the back of the head will leak sometimes. (As with any seal on a car of that age and mileage.)

Make sure when turning the key all the warning lights come on, ABS, SRS, etc.. and that they all go out once the car starts. Just to be sure all the systems are operational and that nobody removed the bulbs for the warning lights.

If it has sunroof, make sure it vents and opens smoothly, as with the windows..