Other throttle body issues?

Search this Thread

Old 01-24-2016, 02:09 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Other throttle body issues?

I'm a novice at cars. I drove my son's 1989 244 automatic home from the mechanic on Friday (horn repair) and it sounded funny (like a hand dryer in a public restroom), didn't shift properly, and wouldn't accelerate much over 40mph. Research on this board suggested a kickdown cable issue, and when I checked this afternoon, there was sag in the cable that I don't think should be there. I shoved the cable back in the housing, took the car around the block, found the performance laggy and accelerator harder than I expected to push in. The slack was back in the cable afterward.

Here's my question: obviously the kickdown cable needs seeing to, but do the symptoms suggest other throttle issues? (It's been 5 years since I drove the Volvo, and 4 since I've driven an automatic, but I don't remember it being that sluggish.) We don't really have Volvo mechanics in my neck of the woods, so it helps if I have an idea of what's going on so I can explain it to Ford people. (There was, for instance, the one that told me he took off the MAF because I didn't need it. We don't speak so much anymore.)

Attached Thumbnails Other throttle body issues?-image.jpeg  
Old 01-24-2016, 08:24 PM
no mo volvo
Received 101 Likes on 94 Posts

yeah, thats a fried kickdown cable. see that metal bead on it? at rest that should be about 1-2mm from the end of the ferrule. that cable should freely and quickly retract back to that state.

you might try and find a toyota mechanic who's worked on 1980s RWD toyotas (supras, pickups, etc), they use the same transmission. get the real Volvo throttle cable appropriate for your car, but they should easily be able to install it. the transmission end is behind a cover plate.

Old 01-25-2016, 06:49 AM
Received 41 Likes on 41 Posts