960 P0740 code

  #21  
Old 12-16-2007, 07:00 AM
tech's Avatar
Administrator
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 36,351
Default RE: 960 P0740 code

Sorry I was at a dinner for work.
That should work.
I also just thought of something else to look at but it is outside.
On the site of the tranny there is 3 plugs inspect then really good. The insulation on the wires for the female connectors fall apart and the wires will back out.
 
  #22  
Old 12-17-2007, 07:27 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location:
Posts: 61
Default RE: 960 P0740 code

Well, it is full (I think) and it shifts ok. It still kind of hesitates going from 1st into 2nd, but it doesn't jerk. It took a little over 3 quarts to fill, but I had the pan off for about 24 hours. I have the rest of the gallon in the car, so I will check it when I get to work tomorrow. I called Permatex today, and they said that it should work since I let it set for more than 24 hours before I refilled it. Time will tell. I noticed that the rpms were a little lower. It used to run about 2500 rpms at 65, tonight it ran about 2000 rpms.
 
  #23  
Old 12-17-2007, 07:45 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location:
Posts: 61
Default RE: 960 P0740 code

And I did see the insulation was off on the connectors outside the tranny, but I wasn't going to even look crosseyed at them after the solenoid connector fiasco.
 
  #24  
Old 12-18-2007, 05:34 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location:
Posts: 61
Default RE: 960 P0740 code

Ok, so I got about 3/4 of the way to work and the cel came on. Guess which code it was? Thats right P0740. I am wondering if it is the computer getting hot and opening a circuit or something. Where is the computer? Is it next to the steering column or somewhere else? I turned off the heat on the way home, and it didn't come on, so I am thinking the heat blowing on it caused the problem (or exposed the problem).
 
  #25  
Old 12-18-2007, 08:35 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location:
Posts: 61
Default RE: 960 P0740 code

Wow! I just saw 960 tranny computers on Ebay for $50, should I trust them?
 
  #26  
Old 12-18-2007, 08:43 PM
tech's Avatar
Administrator
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 36,351
Default RE: 960 P0740 code

Not sure about the e-bay one.
I would check the wires good. On the side of the tranny.
 
  #27  
Old 12-18-2007, 08:45 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location:
Posts: 61
Default RE: 960 P0740 code

How do I fix them if they have come loose? And the funny thing I forgot to mention is that when I cleared it this morning, it came back on with the car idling in park. I wouldn't think that the torque converter clutch would be kicking in that case.
 
  #28  
Old 12-18-2007, 09:46 PM
tech's Avatar
Administrator
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 36,351
Default RE: 960 P0740 code

It won't kick in idling but it might be the wires.
You can buy wires from the Dealer and cut the old ends off and either solder ot but connect the new ones on.
If you want I will try to get the part# of them and geive it to you.
 
  #29  
Old 12-20-2007, 07:16 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location:
Posts: 61
Default RE: 960 P0740 code

Yes I would like the part number. I guess I would like to try the solenoid wiring harness first (the one inside the tranny).
 
  #30  
Old 12-20-2007, 07:24 PM
tech's Avatar
Administrator
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 36,351
Default RE: 960 P0740 code

I will get it tomorrow.
 
  #31  
Old 12-20-2007, 08:00 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location:
Posts: 61
Default RE: 960 P0740 code

Cool. I am seriosly thinking about taking it to the local transmission shop to get scanned. It may be worth the $75.
 
  #32  
Old 01-11-2008, 07:18 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location:
Posts: 61
Default RE: 960 P0740 code

So, I got it scanned at the transmission shop and they can't tell me what is wrong specifically without tearing it apart. It shifts ok except for from 1st to 2nd, and they said it seems like everything is working ok given the mileage. Oh yeah, then there is the transmission light/cel combo. I am seriously considering getting a computer from Ebay for $50 and see if it fixes it. Or maybe I should see if some C4 will help. Could it be related to my intermittent climate control issue where I lose damper control and it kicks out the code for the EGR valve. All vacuum operated I think??
 
  #33  
Old 01-20-2008, 01:47 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location:
Posts: 61
Default RE: 960 P0740 code

Well, I got rid of ityesterday at the lot where I originally bought it. He has a junkyard also, and thinks he can steal a wiring harness from a Lexus GS300 to fit it. iI got a 2006.5 Kia Optima with 18k on it (time to start the clock over again). Hopefully no repairs in the near future!
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
I8ASaleen
Volvo S90 & V90
3
07-12-2017 10:48 AM
bryants40
Volvo S40
3
05-15-2014 07:49 PM
joshula8
Volvo S70
0
02-11-2013 05:07 PM
98v70
1998-2000 model year V70
0
11-07-2012 08:27 PM
fusselman
Volvo S80
10
09-19-2011 11:50 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: 960 P0740 code


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.