Volvo 850 Made from 1993 to 1997, this Volvo line was available in both a wagon and a sedan, both with were graced with several trim levels.

1996 Volvo 850 Turbo Problems

Search this Thread

Old 04-08-2012, 07:55 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question 1996 Volvo 850 Turbo Problems

Recently I purchased a 1996 Volvo 850 Turbo, knowing it had some problems but figuring they weren't so bad. I don't have much clue what I'm doing as I'm just starting out here, so I was hoping some much more knowledgeable folks on here would be able to help

The problems are:

When driving, the vehicle will drift to the left if left on its own. The steering wheel will also shake, and vibrate. I tried to look this one up on my own and it sounds like an Alignment issue, except most places I found referred to this at HIGH speeds, where on this car it is actually most noticeable at low speeds. Still there at highway speed though.

It is very zippy from 0-45 miles/hour, but when taken up to higher speeds there are some problems. For example, the biggest problem is when accelerating on a entry ramp onto a highway, the car will get up to about 60mph with limited difficulties but then will just refuse to go any faster for quite some time. I have literally just sat on a ramp before with the gas pedal pushed completely to the floor, for NO acceleration at all past 60mph. It will take 10-15 seconds before finally getting faster, and then only slowly.

It seems like a turbo problem? Also, after a while of driving at highway speeds the car will intermittently "jump" up to speed for like 2 seconds, and then kick back to normal speed. It's almost as if the Turbo isn't even working, and then randomly decides to kick in every once in a while.

I know about Turbo lag, but as far as I can tell (this is my first Turbo vehicle) it is far, FAR worse than what is accepted.

I was quoted $100 dollars for the wheel alignment, and I have absolutely no idea how much it will cost to fix the turbo issue.