Volvo 850 Made from 1993 to 1997, this Volvo line was available in both a wagon and a sedan, both with were graced with several trim levels.

95 850 Turbo Hissing / Boost Leak??

Search this Thread

Old 03-31-2015, 05:45 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy 95 850 Turbo Hissing / Boost Leak??

So i have noticed over the last week or two that i have had a strange noise. When im on the accelerator, i get a whistle'ish noise, to be honest to me it sounds like suction, like a vacuum line is just freely sucking in air. It has gotten louder over the week and its starting to worry me. Once the car is up to speed and it shifts into high gear the noise seems to go away, spikes on the gas pedal result in the same sound making a blow off valve kind of noise.

Attempted recording of it:

please help, any ideas are a plus. im new to turbo's, it boosts fine and has tons of power, but i don't want the noise to do more damage over time.

Old 04-03-2015, 09:17 PM
Administrator
Received 30 Likes on 29 Posts

Hi and welcome to the forum. To start, it's not boosting fine. It should be boosting 3/4 of the way into the white. It sounds to me like you have a vacuum line loose under the dash. How long have you owned the car?

Old 04-09-2015, 11:29 AM

Originally Posted by rspi
Hi and welcome to the forum. To start, it's not boosting fine. It should be boosting 3/4 of the way into the white. It sounds to me like you have a vacuum line loose under the dash. How long have you owned the car?
When i give the car heavy acceleration the needle goes up to 3/4 white, and then falls a bit below then and holds.. The video was recorded under light acceleration, but i do think it has lost some boost

Ive owned the car for about a year, but it has only been daily driven for about 3 months. You have helped me with it before over at MVS (thank you). I took out the glove box to see if there was any lines i could see loose or hear a loudness difference with it open / shut, but i cant find anything