Volvo 850 Made from 1993 to 1997, this Volvo line was available in both a wagon and a sedan, both with were graced with several trim levels.

95 850 turbo timing belt/service light

Old 12-19-2005, 03:08 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 95 850 turbo timing belt/service light

I just bought a 95 turbo sedan with 103k miles as my first car and I was wondering when I should replace the timing belt because I have no knowledge of when it was last replaced. In the volvo service book it said it was last serviced at 75k miles and several times before, would the belt have already been replaced.

Should I rather be safe than sorry and replace the belt now, I heard the suggested manufacture replacement was something like 60k miles so if was replaced on time before should I wait until like 120k miles or not risk it and just do it now. I was also wondering where the best place to buy a new one would be, and how difficult/ how much time it would take to replace if this was my first time working on a volvo. Also, could I just take the cover off the belt and tell if it had any signs of wear or damage. I already dished out the 20 bucks to get a haynes manual which is in the mail.

Also, the service light is on now, the dealer said that he performed an oil change but did not have the tool to get the service light off because he was not a volvo dealer himself. Is there any way to get this to turn off without going to a dealer?

Thanks for any suggestions

Old 12-19-2005, 07:05 PM
Default RE: 95 850 turbo timing belt/service light