Volvo 850 Made from 1993 to 1997, this Volvo line was available in both a wagon and a sedan, both with were graced with several trim levels.

'96 850 Wagon, Can't Open Rear Hatch...

Search this Thread

Old 05-18-2011, 11:13 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default '96 850 Wagon, Can't Open Rear Hatch...

For some reason, I can't open the rear hatch on my 1996 850 Turbo Wagon... I have tried the key, no luck. I've tried the switch on the dash to possibly unlock the back door, still no luck. It clicks when I use the switch, and when I use a key in the rear door, but it doesn't open... I know it's probably something simple.

This is my first Volvo. I bought it used, and I'm still learning how to get around and use all the new switches, bells and whistles. But, I'm stumped on this one.

Please advise...

Old 05-19-2011, 05:04 AM
Administrator
Received 30 Likes on 29 Posts

Did you do a search? The wagon's also have an interior latch, did you try that one? You'll have to crawl through the car of corse.

Old 05-19-2011, 11:38 AM

the rod that connects to you lock has fallen off

Old 05-19-2011, 10:46 PM
Administrator
Received 30 Likes on 29 Posts

Can someone tell me how to take the rear hatch apart to get at the parts in there. I already broke the top center piece.

Old 05-20-2011, 08:33 AM
Super Moderator

Taking it apart without being able to open the door will be very hard and you will break clips. Do you have a wrecker that you could go study the door and mechanism?