Volvo 850 Made from 1993 to 1997, this Volvo line was available in both a wagon and a sedan, both with were graced with several trim levels.

Blower motor will not turn on, Why? Noob here!

Search this Thread

Old 07-19-2010, 10:12 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Blower motor will not turn on, Why? Noob here!

Hello All!
Let me thank you all in advance. I just bought a '96 850 today. 196,000 miles, here in Lancaster, PA. I will make this short. I did a search for my query, and there are an inordinate amount of broken A/C threads; I read through many, but all seem to have the blower working, at least on "Max" (which should be a resistor issue).
However, my HVAC will not blow anything. No motor noise, nada. The previous owner said it needed a recharge, which was done every few years (leaky?) and it was blowing warm air, never got cold. However about three days ago it stopped blowing anything at all. HELP!
Fuse? Where is fuse? What should I look for? Thats where I wanted to start, But like I said I bought it today, brand new to me.
Thank you all very much!! I look forward to being a part of the community here. I Just sold my BMW E34 535i To join the Volvo legions. I love their forums, and was very involved, looking to do the same here.
Thank you again,
JPS

Old 07-20-2010, 11:45 AM

Welcome!

Do you have the ECC or the MCC? The MCC uses a resistor to control fan speeds 1, 2 & 3 and it's bypassed for 4. If the resistor is blown, only speed 4 will work.

With the ECC, it uses a MOSFET power stage and behaves in much the same way. Sometimes when the motor burns itself out, it’ll blow the power stage, too. This is commonly ‘tested’ by the fact that the blower motor runs full-speed even when the key is removed from the ignition.