Volvo 850 Made from 1993 to 1997, this Volvo line was available in both a wagon and a sedan, both with were graced with several trim levels.

a/c compressor problem?

Search this Thread

Old 04-20-2008, 06:39 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default a/c compressor problem?

hi all, i'm new to the volvo fraternity-1997 850 AWD canadian model. being such, i'm learning and reading lots on my new(old!) car.
since winter is FINALLY over and summer is approaching i thought i'd try the a/c out. it was cool that day and i couldn't really tell if it was working.
now something strange is happening : with the a/c switch on auto,regardless of the heater setting, there is and audible click(like the a/c compressor coming on) and a short hesitation from the engine. this process repeats itself approx. every five seconds until i switch the a/c toggle to the off position.after that every thing seems fine.
i didn't have this problem in the winter as i never tried the a/c out. got a feeling the compressor is somehow cycling on and off(hence the slight drop in power when i hear the click). anyone hear of anything similar?
really like the forum and am looking forward to many useful visits

-breton-

Old 04-20-2008, 07:07 PM
Administrator
Received 40 Likes on 38 Posts
Default RE: a/c compressor problem?

You could be low on Freon I would have the level checked.

Old 05-05-2015, 08:16 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by breton
hi all, i'm new to the volvo fraternity-1997 850 AWD canadian model. being such, i'm learning and reading lots on my new(old!) car.
since winter is FINALLY over and summer is approaching i thought i'd try the a/c out. it was cool that day and i couldn't really tell if it was working.