Volvo 850 Made from 1993 to 1997, this Volvo line was available in both a wagon and a sedan, both with were graced with several trim levels.

Do I need to reset computer in my car?

Search this Thread

Old 12-01-2015, 11:07 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Do I need to reset computer in my car?

I have a 1997 850 GLT. I just replaced the MAF sensor.

(NOTE: I got the sensor from speedyracer for only 24.95 & it looked generic compared to the other one)

After replacing the MAF sensor, my car actually ran a LOT worse then it previously did. At this time I am driving my car with the sensor unplugged, it is the only way I am able to drive it.

So, my question is this; do I need to reset my computer? If so, how do I reset it? I have read on other websites to touch the cables together or to leave the battery unplugged for 15 minutes and tap the brakes. I do not want to do this if it could create more problems.

I am new to all of this car fixing stuff and am still learning. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thank you!

Old 12-01-2015, 12:43 PM

Why did you decide to replace the MAF to begin with, I would plug the old one back in, at least temporarily til you get an oem new one.

Is your car having a check engine light on?

I have not heard of speedyracer before BUT I would not buy from someone who can not spell Volvo correctly.

MASS AIR FLOW SENSOR FIT 94-97 VOLVE 850 98 C70 V70 S70 2.3L/2.4L 7403507697

Last edited by Random; 12-01-2015 at 12:48 PM.
Old 12-01-2015, 02:49 PM
Super Moderator
Received 485 Likes on 466 Posts