Volvo 850 Made from 1993 to 1997, this Volvo line was available in both a wagon and a sedan, both with were graced with several trim levels.

Hard starting

Search this Thread

Old 01-22-2012, 07:25 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hard starting

Hi, I am new to Volvos and new to this forum. I recently purchased a 96 850 GLT non turbo. This car has over 200000 miles but it is in good over all condition but it does have a couple issues when i bought it. The first thing I was told that it needs was a timing belt change so I replaced the belt, water pump, tensioner pully, and idler pully myself. Another thing was that is starts hard particularly when it is cold outside. You need to turn the key on average a dozen times before it will stay running(it acts like there is a lack of fuel). Once it is warmed up, it is good for 6 or 7 hours after being shut off and will fire right up. I am thinking the problem is the fuel pump but why would it fire right up when it is warm? Any help would be appreciated to diagnose the problem.

Old 01-22-2012, 07:28 PM

Start by checking the fuel pressure at the fuel rail first thing in the morning.
You can rent a fuel PSI tester, hook it up, start the car and watch the gauge.
I dont know what the fuel PSI is supposed to be, but I do know its higher than 0.

Also replace the fuel filter, do that no matter what.
I dont know about the sedan, but in the wagon the fuel pump is easy to replace.

Old 01-22-2012, 08:09 PM

I will replace the fuel filter asap. Does the car need to be running to check the fuel pressure or can it be simply checked by turning the key. I think the pump will turn on when the key is turned on most vehicles.

Old 01-22-2012, 09:27 PM

Yes you can check it with just the key in the "run" position, the pump will run for about 5 sec and then shut off.
But it should hold pressure over night.

Old 01-22-2012, 10:21 PM
Administrator
Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts