Volvo 850 Made from 1993 to 1997, this Volvo line was available in both a wagon and a sedan, both with were graced with several trim levels.

No Problems @130K, should I still do PCV maintenance?

Search this Thread

Old 04-29-2013, 12:03 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default No Problems @130K, should I still do PCV maintenance?

Hey Guys I want to say thanks to all who have helped me in the past! With your help I'm basically loving this car more each day. I'm a Noob to Volvo's but not a noob to cars in general.

Quick question to the Gurus of the forum. Little info first. My wagon is close to hitting 130K miles and apart of the normal expected issues with having an 850 I have no leaks anywhere, not from oil cap, no smoke from dipstick, no issues on start up, no smoke or odd smells from tail pipe and the car passed CT emmisions with flying colors.

The only issue I have is the occassional valve tick. I just seafoamed it and did an oil change. I did indeed use a Volvo oil filter and used synthetic oil hoping the tick would go away, but it's still comes and goes. Well the car is 19 years old so everything can't be perfect LOL. I read another member RSPI had no smoke coming from his dipstick but he found blockage on one of the ports. I believe his car had more mileage though.

So... Should I go ahead and do the PCV work???? even though I have no issues????

Old 04-29-2013, 01:39 PM
Super Moderator
Received 71 Likes on 63 Posts

The best way to tell is with a manometer installed in the dipstick tube. If you have any positive pressure, replace the breather box. If you have vacuum, you don't need to do anything.

Old 04-29-2013, 04:44 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

preventive maintenance...

Do it before it clogs and you will never have the problem.
For $150 and a couple hours of your time IMO its worth the piece of mind.

Plus if you pull the intake mani to do it you can throw on a snabb intake spacer

Old 04-29-2013, 06:12 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts