Volvo S40 The S40 is Volvo's most affordable sedan with all the amenities of a luxury sports car.

'00 S40 Won't start - Please review my troubleshooting steps.

Search this Thread

Old 05-28-2013, 09:01 PM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default '00 S40 Won't start - Please review my troubleshooting steps.

Hello all - I'm a newb on the forums but think I can handle most repairs. I've read numerous posts on S40s not starting, including the classic FPG issues. Please hear me out and review my situation if you could?

The back story - We just acquired a used 2000 S40 for my son. The previous owner was upfront about occasional starting issues that sounded like the FPG issue, but he said it was coil packs. Eventually he changed both coils, plugs and wires and claimed the problem was solved, so we agreed to purchase at that point. (he also claimed to change out the FPG) We have only owned this car 1 week, but when its running its running real nice with plenty of pep.

My immediate experience - After taking ownership we did have a longer than normal starting time on a couple occasions, but after a couple days, we began to notice coolant consumption and eventual high temp gauge. I would top off the resevior to max, run the car and it would be cool with normal temp, but then after a couple days this would happen again. After the third time topping it off, it appeared to level off and stop consuming so I wrote it off to it being low from the beginning. I will be doing a thermostat but am waiting for the OE exact to come in at NAPA (tmrw). My neighbor pulled a code calling out cylinder 2 misfire and cleared it - I don't know the code or what the current readings are.