Volvo S40 The S40 is Volvo's most affordable sedan with all the amenities of a luxury sports car.

How Hard? How Easy? Sway bar link pins

Search this Thread

Old 11-19-2015, 11:06 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How Hard? How Easy? Sway bar link pins

On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being max difficulty (for a non mechanic who normally does little more than rotating wheels and oil changes), how difficult would it be if I try to do this job myself:

Replace two rear sway bar link pins. (required to pass safety inspection)

And of course, this would need to be done from my back as I am not a pro with a lift. The main thing that would determine whether I give it a go myself is how many OTHER things need to be removed before I get to the part I need to replace? I helped someone change a battery in a vw bug once, and oh my gosh did they make that more difficult than it needed to be!

So, anybody do this on a 2004 S40 or similar that can tell me what has to happen? Will I need any special tools other then wrenches or sockets?

Thanks in advance!

Old 11-19-2015, 03:16 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

The Sway Bar Links are easy to replace, and no need to go under the car. Just jack the car up and pull the tire and also remove any plastic covers (mine are missing) that may be there. You just need a wrench or socket for the 2 nuts holding it on... and I think there may have been a place to hold the bolt from spinning with a hex key. If the nuts are rusted you may want to spray them with some penetrating oil a day before.

Also I usually use a jack stand to hold the car up and a hydraulic jack to raise/lower the steering knuckle/strut assembly. This makes getting the new end link back on easier as you can slowly jack the strut up so that the holes line up with the link. Hard to explain, but pretty obvious once you have a link off.