Volvo S40 The S40 is Volvo's most affordable sedan with all the amenities of a luxury sports car.

S40 mk2 2.0d radiator fan not working

Search this Thread

Old 07-25-2018, 07:23 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default S40 mk2 2.0d radiator fan not working

Hi all, complete newbie to the forum...
Im trying to diagnose a radiator fan problem on my S40 2.0d R-Design, I have disconnected the 3 pin plug that feeds the fan control module and put my meter across the main power and have 12v output (the larger pins), I also have a reading of 4.38v from the remote (the smaller pin) Does anyone know if the remote pin should read 12v upon fan activation?
Ive been so tempted to cut the purple remote wire and add a 12v feed to the fan control unit to see if the fan kicks in but thought id seek some advice before doing this.
note:- the Control module and fan appear to be hard-wired, so I cant directly test the motor without cutting the wires.

Old 07-25-2018, 10:25 AM
Received 108 Likes on 104 Posts

The fan control on the Volvos uses a pulsed power line to power the fan. I don't recall the specifics, but you'll get a reading of something under full battery voltage if you use an analog (needle-style) voltmeter. Using a digital meter might work, might not... depending on how it interprets a square wave signal.

You should be able to disconnect the fan motor to test it. There should be a plug on the upper right side of the radiator (as you're looking at it, standing in front of the car). I don't have the wiring diagram but that should be easily google-able so you'll know which lines to put power on to test).

Old 07-25-2018, 10:59 AM

yes it was this plug that I took the readings from using a digital meter, I take it the ECU must send a signal to the fan control module then, which points to the module being at fault, I was expecting to get an increased reading from the remote pin as the engine temp increased to where additional cooling is required.