Volvo S60 & V60 The mid level Volvo sedan and wagon that offer power, performance and an exciting ride.

Bad Axles and Motor Mounts 2001 S60 2.4T

Old 04-21-2014, 11:46 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Bad Axles and Motor Mounts 2001 S60 2.4T

First and foremost, gotta thank you guys for helping me diagnose my last issue with my turbo. Got it changed successfully.

New Issue:

Recently, for the past two months, I have noticed a vibration when accelarating on the freeway. Took the car to a mechanic known as Leo at Signal Hill Foreign Auto in Long Beach. He told me that 2 motor mounts were broken, the top and the right motor mounts. Additionally, he said the axle boots on both the front right and fron left axels were broken.
Question1: What is more important to address, motor mounts or axle boots?
Question 2: 2 seperate mechanics have told me if I am going to replace the axel boots, then I should just replace the whole axle. Should I do this?
Question 3: I'm a college student and my paid internship is almost over. If I am only planning to keep the car for another year, should I get all of these parts used from a European auto parts yard instead of rebuilt or new?

Old 04-21-2014, 12:01 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Firstly, the mechanics diagnostic is a little vague so to speak. I would guess, he's replacing parts without knowing what is causing the issue.

That said, engine mounts are prone to go bad, but that doesn't necessarily affect much, if transmission shifting.

The axle boots you can check by yourself. Big black rubber covers behind each wheel. If they are cracked, they need replacing asap. If they only leak a little bit of grease at the attaching clamp, it's not so urgent.

Yes, axles can cause vibration under load, but then it will show some play in the axle. Easy to check. If the axle is shot, it's useless to only replace the boot.