Volvo S60 & V60 The mid level Volvo sedan and wagon that offer power, performance and an exciting ride.

Engine making noise, any thoughts ?

Search this Thread

Old 04-28-2010, 02:46 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine making noise, any thoughts ?

I have a 2002 S60, just hit 95K miles. Lately there is a little bit of noise under the hood, at the front of the engine passenger side. My thought is that it is either the drive belt or one of the pulleys. I don't have easy access to a mechanic however and need the car to commute. Are thee any definitive ways to tell if the drive belt is wearing or a pulley is loose or needs to be replaced ?

Also, what is the small rectangular metal thing at the top front left, about 3" square next to the upper radiator hose ?

Thanks.

Old 04-28-2010, 03:49 PM

I'm not a mechanic, but I had some noise from my pulleys, some squeaking. I applied some WD40 to quiet it down. Much better!

Old 05-01-2010, 11:15 AM

Originally Posted by MarksS60
I have a 2002 S60, just hit 95K miles. Lately there is a little bit of noise under the hood, at the front of the engine passenger side. My thought is that it is either the drive belt or one of the pulleys. I don't have easy access to a mechanic however and need the car to commute. Are thee any definitive ways to tell if the drive belt is wearing or a pulley is loose or needs to be replaced ?

Also, what is the small rectangular metal thing at the top front left, about 3" square next to the upper radiator hose ?

Thanks.
I think that what you describe as a small rectangular thing is the power steering pump, Try to feel if any the pulleys feels loose while the engine is switched off.

One very good thing when locating noises from engines is to use a big screwdriver and put the plastic grip against the ear and the other side against or close to the engine component you want to check, It works like a stethoscope and is very useful.