Volvo S70 Made from 1998 to 2000, this sporty model replaced the 850 sedan and instantly became a hit.

decideing to mod or not.

Old 01-13-2011, 01:42 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default decideing to mod or not.

ok heres the deal. im new at modding. ive never done it before ive had a few cars now and its time. to spice it up. i have a volvo s70 awd (turbo) automatic.
im not sure if it will be worth it to mod a car thats automatic. if anyone can help me decide or even give me tips on whats most important. or just help me out

thanks

Old 01-13-2011, 03:08 PM

i have faced this exact issue with my AWD s70 turbo with auto tran. i have decided to mod my car for longevity and not necessarily speed; i.e. aux. front mount tran. fluid intercooler. and i have some others that do both longevity and fun; K&N drop in filter, OBX strut brace. with the auto trans, especially in the s70, you risk alot of damage by pushing it hard often. if you do decide to mod, certainly achieve a full stage 0 first.

Old 01-13-2011, 03:11 PM
Administrator
Received 30 Likes on 29 Posts

Man, Just look around and make your choices. There is a lot of information here and on other Volvo sites that you can gleen from. No one will tell you what to do or how to do it. Mods are very personal.

Old 01-14-2011, 06:25 AM
Received 11 Likes on 7 Posts

1. What is your budget like?

2. Can you do the installs yourself?

3. Have you done a FULL STATGE ZERO yet? If not do so first before modding, period.

4. Do you want all around performance or just in one area? Like engine/suspension/cosmetic?

Some typical mods would be as follows...

- 3" mandrel bent downpipe to a 3" mandrel bent catback system with a hi flow CAT and free flowing straight through muffler.

- K&N panel filter and or IPD's or EST's short ram intake system.

- ECU upgrade. IPD USA, RICA are the two best on the market. Upsolute, SpeedTuning USA, Inmotion are cheaper and less developed but you do still gain power.