Volvo S70 Made from 1998 to 2000, this sporty model replaced the 850 sedan and instantly became a hit.

Several questions from a Newbie

Search this Thread

Old 08-04-2007, 01:36 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Several questions from a Newbie

Hello,

Just bought a 98 s70 GLT a few days ago so i am very new to volvos. Howeve not so new to cars since i have a stage 3 wrx that i have been messing with for years. Just a few quick questions and looking for some enlightment:
1. The car has traction control button, how do i activiate it, how do i de-activite it? pressing it and holding it down for several seconds seems to have no effect what so ever. no instrament light lights up or turns off.
2. the car has ABS, but it still locks up under heavy breaking. No ABS light and the fuse is still good, any ideas?
3. the speedo work sometimes and sometimes not. just like another guy on this forum states, half of the time it work after turning the car on/off again.
4. i just noticed this tonight while driving...the circulation button (u know the one next to the AC button) and the AC on button both flashes together several times. Is this some type of trouble code? no check engine light what so ever.

Thank you for any input ahead of time!

Old 08-04-2007, 12:04 PM
Default RE: Several questions from a Newbie

1. Traction control is on unless the driver disengages it. This is from the Owner's Manual.

6 - TRAction Control System (TRACS) - option

TRACS is a system designed as an aid when starting/driving off if one of the drive wheels has poor traction due to weather conditions or the road surface and is connected to the ABS control module.
TRACS engages automatically at speeds below 25 mph (40 km/h) when one of the drive wheels loses traction. It disengages automatically when speed exceeds 25 mph (40 km/h). The sound which can be heard when the system is operating comes from the ABS system.