Volvo 850 Made from 1993 to 1997, this Volvo line was available in both a wagon and a sedan, both with were graced with several trim levels.

Several questions

Search this Thread

Old 04-25-2006, 01:54 AM
Super Moderator
Received 34 Likes on 34 Posts
Default Several questions

Hi All,

Semi-newbie here. sorry for the long first post, but I am new to the 850, but not to Volvo's (have an 01 XC70) and definitely not new to cars in general.

I enjoy doing my own wrenching on cars and do my best to keep my cars in top shape.

That said, my wife and I are strongly considering the purchase of a 94 850 turbo sedan for my 16 yr old to drive. Main reasons are reliability and or course the safety factor of a solid car like the Volvo.

Car we are looking at is a 1994 850 Turbo sedan, gold exterior with dark brown interior. It has 166K and change on the clock. We are taking it for a test drive on Thursday, but looking at it and talking to the owner, here is what I have found. I would be the third owner of the car. It had the top end of the motor overhauled at 145K due to traces of oil in the coolant. Work was done by a Volvo dealership, and they not only replaced the head gasket but did a valve and seal job on the head while it was off. Car has been maintained by area Volvo dealership and independent mechanics for the last 4 years. Unknown before that. Asking price is $3600 obo.

The good: Car looks straight, decent paint, no noticable dents, a few scratches, and some paint flaking by the rear window trim, all glass good with no cracks, no visible leaks or drips.