Volvo S80 A performance sedan that offers top notch luxury, outstanding handling and so much more.

CAN OBD2 failed to read codes

  #1  
Old 03-05-2008, 09:27 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location:
Posts: 81
Default CAN OBD2 failed to read codes

1999 S80 T6

Guys,

I bought Equus 3130 OBD2 scanner and used it to pull a code. My car's message window says "Engine System Service Required" and the orange delta is ON. The scanner said there are no DTC codes present.

Who's lying? My car's message window or the scanner?
I am pretty sure that the ESSR message is for the brake pedal sensor malfuntion - it showed up a couple of weeks ago while at the dealer who said the code is ECU 9400

Thanks.
 
  #2  
Old 03-05-2008, 09:42 PM
tech's Avatar
Administrator
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 36,351
Default RE: OBD2 Question

The scanner is lying.
I see it all the time the guys in the shop use a generic scanner and see only 1 code.
I hook up the laptop with Vadis and pull 3 or 4 codes.
 
  #3  
Old 03-05-2008, 09:59 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location:
Posts: 81
Default RE: OBD2 Question

Dang!! I will have to return this scanner then. Is there no way to pull a code without shelling out 120 bucks to the dealer everytime my car spits out a message??

But guess what... I was able to erase that message in the car using the scanner.
(I know, it was dumb to erage the code before I know what it is for, but I was fiddling with the buttons on the scanner to check if I will be able to retrieve a code and managed to erase it)

Thanks.
 
  #4  
Old 03-06-2008, 12:56 PM
Capo Cam's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 463
Default RE: OBD2 Question

ORIGINAL: tech

The scanner is lying.
I see it all the time the guys in the shop use a generic scanner and see only 1 code.
I hook up the laptop with Vadis and pull 3 or 4 codes.
Where can I get a cord to run from my Laptop to the car diagnostic plug?
 
  #5  
Old 03-06-2008, 07:42 PM
tech's Avatar
Administrator
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 36,351
Default RE: OBD2 Question

ORIGINAL: 1999S80T6

Dang!! I will have to return this scanner then. Is there no way to pull a code without shelling out 120 bucks to the dealer everytime my car spits out a message??

But guess what... I was able to erase that message in the car using the scanner.
(I know, it was dumb to erage the code before I know what it is for, but I was fiddling with the buttons on the scanner to check if I will be able to retrieve a code and managed to erase it)

Thanks.
Is it a Can scanner?

Where can I get a cord to run from my Laptop to the car diagnostic plug?
You will need to get a Box that connects between the laptop and car.
They are expensive.
 
  #6  
Old 03-06-2008, 08:50 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location:
Posts: 81
Default RE: OBD2 Question

Yes, tech. It is a CAN OBD2 scanner.
The description says: "Communicates with all OBD 2 protocols: C.A.N. (Controller Area Network), ISO 9141, J1850PWM, J1850VPW, KWP 2000 ISO 14230-4 - Provides SAE enhanced Live Data - views, records, and plays back live PCM data streams - Displays Freeze Frame Data - Retrieves OBD2 DTCs: Generic Codes (P0, P2, P3, and U0) / - Manufacturer Specific Codes (P1, P3, and U1)"

Question: The dealer pulled the code ECU 9400. Is it a generic code or a manf. specific code? Why doesn't this code start with a "P" or "U" as the scanner's description says?
 
  #7  
Old 03-06-2008, 09:06 PM
tech's Avatar
Administrator
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 36,351
Default RE: OBD2 Question

It is a Dealer specific code.
It should have been a ECM-9400 code.
Thats what the Dealer uses. The P codes are majorly different.
 
  #8  
Old 03-06-2008, 09:36 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 35
Default RE: OBD2 Question

I found that in one case I had to run the car to get the codes - no codes came up with just the ignition on but in "run" the codes came up.
 
  #9  
Old 03-06-2008, 10:16 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location:
Posts: 81
Default RE: OBD2 Question

ORIGINAL: tech

It is a Dealer specific code.
It should have been a ECM-9400 code.
Thats what the Dealer uses. The P codes are majorly different.
Dealer specific code?!!? hmm...
(Yes, its ECM 9400; thanks for the correction)

So, I guess a dealer specific code cannot be read on my little scanner.

Question: Do these dealer specific codes have a corresponding generic or manufacturer codes starting with a "B", "C", "P", or "U"?
Howdid thedealer manage to make up a code on a car's computer anyway?

Thanks.
 
  #10  
Old 03-06-2008, 10:21 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location:
Posts: 81
Default RE: OBD2 Question

ORIGINAL: magak2572

I found that in one case I had to run the car to get the codes - no codes came up with just the ignition on but in "run" the codes came up.
I did a really dumb thing by erasing the code after my scanner failed to read it. I should have run the car.

"Run" - do you mean run the engine while the scanner is connected and reading? Or take a drive, switch off the engine and connect the read scanner?

Sorry for so many questions, I just want to make sure I did not waste 170 bucks on a scanner that doesn't read codes.
 
  #11  
Old 03-06-2008, 11:08 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 35
Default RE: OBD2 Question

Sorry, I meant run the engine and try searching for codes while it is running.

If you cleared the codes and the problem still exists they should come back.
 
  #12  
Old 03-07-2008, 12:06 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location:
Posts: 81
Default RE: OBD2 Question

I am sure the problem still exists. I will try as you said and will post tomorrow.

Thanks guys.
 
  #13  
Old 03-07-2008, 08:21 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 35
Default RE: OBD2 Question

Sorry, I meant that when I ran the engine (rather than just turn on the ignition) i was able to get the codes. The fault was not recorded in the car's memory after it was turned off but showed up when the engine was running - maybe this will work for you.
 
  #14  
Old 03-07-2008, 09:41 PM
tech's Avatar
Administrator
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 36,351
Default RE: OBD2 Question

What the Dealer uses it a specific number for the codes.
ECM is for the engine computer ETC all the modules are abreviated for the first portion of the code then the numbers come after.
 
  #15  
Old 03-08-2008, 08:38 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 35
Default RE: OBD2 Question

Sorry, by "run" I mean run the engine and search for codes while it is running. In my case the codes were only present while the engine was on. If you cleared the codes and the problem persists the codes should come back anyway.
 
  #16  
Old 03-08-2008, 09:20 PM
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2
Default RE: OBD2 Question

Check out these guys:

http://www.carplugs.com/
 
  #17  
Old 03-12-2008, 08:10 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location:
Posts: 81
Default RE: OBD2 Question

1999 S80 T6

I tried to pull the code as magak2572 suggested but I was not able retrieve any codes. I changed the part (brake pedal position sensor) that created the code.

I am sure my car will spit out a new code soon, will test the CanOBD2 and see if will be able to pull the code next time.

Thanks guys.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Hkon
1998-2000 model year V70
0
06-26-2013 12:55 PM
treborly
Volvo 850
6
08-11-2012 01:49 PM
willko1
Volvo V70
15
10-13-2008 08:08 AM
jdbecks
Volvo XC70
0
03-26-2008 05:20 PM
mwr
Volvo 850
4
08-07-2006 03:32 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: CAN OBD2 failed to read codes


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.