Volvo S90 & V90 Returning for 2017, This sleek full sized sedan mixes luxury with a sporty look.

97 V90 with taillamp gremlins

Search this Thread

Old 04-29-2015, 11:27 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 97 V90 with taillamp gremlins

Newbie here, I just bought a 97 V90...wading through little piddly defects and catching up on some deferred maintenance from the previous owner. I am flummoxed by an issue with the taillamps...turn signals are fine, hazards are fine, CHMSL in the tailgate lights up with application of the brake, left rear fog lamp comes on with the dash switch.
The right lower light stays lit any time the car is running, and neither brake light on the body come on with application of the brake pedal. I replaced all of the bulbs yesterday and don't quite know where to begin. The previous owner had been told it was a bad socket but never did anything about it?!?

Any thoughts?

Old 05-01-2015, 04:31 PM

Do you have the wiring diagram? Checked all fuses?

Old 05-04-2015, 07:08 AM

Sorry for the belated reply...I have gotten the left lamp to work just fine, looks like I have a bad lower socket on the right side...the running light now works but the bulb (new Bulb) does not brighten when the brake pedal is applied. The "bulb out" warning light on the dash sometimes comes on when I hit the brake, but not always. In addition, when I first hit the brake, the seatbelt warning light comes on for a second or two.

I have had the car for just over a week, and I'm gradually sorting out little bits of weirdness and trying to make a reliable 4th car out of it.

Old 05-05-2015, 12:51 AM

I had issues with the seatbelt dinger and it turned out to be a fuse I burnt while taking the dash apart!! Crazy little gremlin.

Great wiring diagram can be downloaded from volvowiringdiagrams.com, I've printed about 60 pages from it as I've been working on the car.