General Volvo Chat Post Your Questions And Comments on any of Volvo's many models.

Smelly heater in 2001 S40

Search this Thread

Old 01-15-2007, 02:24 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Smelly heater in 2001 S40

My heater is starting to smell. I'm replacing the cabin filter but I'm thinking it may be something else since the smell does not present itself with A/C on. Someone said it could be a cracked heater coil. Is that fixable at home? How do we check? How would we fix?

Thanks so much.

Old 01-15-2007, 08:32 PM
JPN
Received 10 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RE: Smelly heater in 2001 S40

Hello nikesboy,

Greetings from Chicagoland.

In general, odor coming from the climate control system is due to foreign objects stuck in the air distribution ductings, including the A/C evaporator. I am not sure how the S40's climate control is set up, but if it has a cabin filter then the problem could be something else (I'm a 850 driver so I couldn't tell exactly what's causing the problem). If the odor goes away with the A/C on, it may as well be the A/C evaporator, though usually odor gets produced when the A/C is turned on.

A/C evaporator is a small radiator-like unit inside the car, which takes heat away from the cabin, and water collects around it due to condensation. Cars without cabin filter usually get many foreign objects (bugs, leaves, etc...) around the evaporator after years and this is usually the source of the odor.

>Someone said it could be a cracked heater coil
↑"Heater core", I believe? Does it smell like coolant? Do you see green fluid under the dash area/floor? If so, it may as well be damaged heater core, or one of the hoses attached to the heater core might be loose, allowing coolant to escape. Open the hood and check the coolant level with the engine COLD.