Bleeding brakes on 1988 240

Search this Thread

Old 10-14-2011, 09:09 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Bleeding brakes on 1988 240

This is my first time bleeding brakes on my 1988 240.

The Bentley manual I'm following says to keep the fluid level in the reservoir above the min. line at all times, or you have to start again. The reservoir appears to have two chambers, front and rear. I started by filling the reservoir, and the fluid rose to the max. line in both chambers.

While I was doing the first caliper (left rear), however, the fluid level in the rear chamber dropped below the min. line, but the level in the front chamber is still at max. When I add more fluid, the level in the front chamber rises, but nothing happens to the level in the rear chamber.

What am I doing wrong?

Old 10-14-2011, 02:56 PM
Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts

My 1st question is why are you bleeding the brakes. If it is because of normal maint. then no problem. Also you start with the rear pass. side , then the rear driver side , then the front pass. side and finally the front driver side. I usually buy a different color brake fluid like blue or yellow or red. I use a turkey baster and suck out as much fluid in the MC reservoir and refill with the new stuff. Now you can either have someone pump the peddle while you crack the bleeder valves or you can use a vacuum bleeder or you can replace the bleeder nipples with a "speed bleeder" nipple which allows you to do a 1 man operation. The reservoir should share the fluid for part of the way and then hold different level front and back circuit. If you keep filling the tank it should fill both front and rear. As you might guess when you bleed the system and start to see the different color fluid you know the system is clean. Try it again and see how you do.

Old 10-22-2011, 09:51 AM