Volvo 850 Made from 1993 to 1997, this Volvo line was available in both a wagon and a sedan, both with were graced with several trim levels.

K&N intake filter or stock?

Search this Thread

Old 07-12-2009, 10:21 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default K&N intake filter or stock?

My 850 is non-turbo, runs nice and though I don't race it I run it up to 5k occasionally in first and second gears. I haven't timed it through the quarter mile. I can feel it really start to pull around 3k and climbs steadily beyond that, like the cam is coming on line. I plan to change the intake filter soon. Is the K&N worth a little modding? Will it clean the air as well as the big box filter? So will there be any performance difference or downside?
Thanks!
Jim

Old 07-12-2009, 10:34 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

i have no experience with K&N but everyone else agrees the the gains are very minimal if any..also you have to clean and oil the K&N filter every so often, so if it was me id stay stock.

Old 07-12-2009, 11:16 PM
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

I just put on a K&N box filter and modded the intake a little bit to allow more air to enter the intake and I felt a difference. I can feel it take off a little bit quicker and it's a little peppier. Now when I put my new exhaust on so all this extra air has somewhere to go, then I'll find out how big of a difference the filters make.

Old 07-12-2009, 11:25 PM

I did not see much performance gain, but MPG got 2-3 more.

Old 07-13-2009, 07:14 AM
Administrator
Received 30 Likes on 29 Posts

I installed the box filter in place of the paper one. While at the auto parts store, they had a K & N filter display that shows the better airflow with the K & N vs the paper type. When I switched to the K & N side of the display, I had to block about 1/2 of the filter surface to get the airflow to match. I was pretty impressed with that so I did get one.