Volvo 850 Made from 1993 to 1997, this Volvo line was available in both a wagon and a sedan, both with were graced with several trim levels.

Leaving leaky hydraulic tensioner in - what's the worst that can happen?

Search this Thread

Old 09-19-2013, 11:18 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Leaving leaky hydraulic tensioner in - what's the worst that can happen?

Hi folks,

As some of you may have seen in my introduction thread, I recently bought a non-turbo 5 speed 94 Volvo 50. I'm new to Volvos, but I did a good deal of research on this and other forums before going out to look at the car. I knew there were certain things wrong with it mechanically, but was up to the challenge of taking care of it as I've been working on my own cars since I was 17, and worked vehicle maintenance for a local school district before college. I got a new front wheel bearing, CV axle, starter solenoid, PCV kit, thermostat, coolant temperature sensor, and timing and serpentine belts.

The previous owner told me that he had the full timing job done last time around, about 80k ago, including hydraulic tensioner, rollers and water pump. I stupidly neglected to bring a socket set and pop off the timing cover to confirm this, however. Once I tore into it earlier today, it became evident that the seller lied to my face. Namely, when I was compressing the hydraulic tensioner (<1 turn per hour with a c-clamp), I noticed a bit of oil seeping out which I understand is a sign of needing replacement. The water pump looked a aged externally but there wasn't any coolant to be seen in the timing cover, and the rollers spin freely and without roughness, so I think those things are OK for the time being.

Problem is, I maxed out the money I had set aside to take care of this car, and being a college student don't exactly have the luxury of just getting a bit more right away. My questions are as follows: