Volvo 850 Made from 1993 to 1997, this Volvo line was available in both a wagon and a sedan, both with were graced with several trim levels.

non starter

Search this Thread

Old 10-09-2009, 02:27 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default non starter

Need some help please

I asked in another thread but hoping to expand the search. My '95 GLE had a little problem with pressure spitting oil out through the dipstick. Thought it might be PCV from reading around. However after sitting for two days, the car now won't start. Turns over but not really catching. I tried in the morning and nothing. Tried again around lunch when it was warmer and I finally got it going but it only lasted around 10 seconds. It was very rough sounding. When it died, the exhaust was very smokey and it smelled.

Any ideas of things to check and ways of checking? I'm new to volvo maintenance.

I did an oil change a few days prior. Once it stops raining, I'll check the oil level since I'm now paranoid I might have over-filled. Hoping that wouldn't have caused this though! It did run fine for a few days after. It was perfect when it was last parked.

Old 10-09-2009, 08:51 AM
Super Moderator

Have you checked your compression? You may have burned a hole in a piston or lost your rings.
The smell may just be lots of fuel in the system not burned from the many start attempts.
If you have blow by on the rings or a hole in the piston your going to develop crank case pressure.

Old 10-09-2009, 09:27 PM

waiting for a compression tool to arrive and then I'll check that. I was thinking of just pulling plugs as a start and having a look at them.

Old 10-10-2009, 09:30 AM
JPN
Received 10 Likes on 5 Posts

What colour of smoke did you have?

Some of the common no-initial combustion:

- Fuel pump on its way.
- Fuel pump relay on its way.
- Fuel system relay (on the top of radiator) on its way.
- CPS (Cam Position Sensor) on its way
- MAF (Mass Air Flow sensor) trouble.
- Faulty ECT (Engine Coolant Temp) Sensor.