Volvo 850 Made from 1993 to 1997, this Volvo line was available in both a wagon and a sedan, both with were graced with several trim levels.

Reset Central Locking

Search this Thread

Old 01-09-2006, 01:59 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Reset Central Locking

First, I'm a newbie and have spent some hours researching my problem and still looking for the answer. Ihave a '97 850 T5 sedan 135k - best car I've ever owned. One day the key fob remote no longer would unlock the car, nor would the spare fob. I got the car used 4 years ago and the central door lock feature using the key in the door has never worked, so I've always used the key fob. I removed fuse #6 so I could drive the car, but now I have to manually lock and unlock all doors. Every time I put the fuse back in, the alarm is trigerred by either opening the door or putting the key in the ignition. The program feature (turn ignition on/off 5 times) doesn't work when the alarm is activated, and if I wait for it to go off, it just reactivates when I try to reprogram (put fresh batteries in key fob also). Also took the fuse panel cover off and couldn't locate the proper relay - no labelling clues on the relay and as I felt each relay it seemed like the "clicking" of the flashers was coming from underneath, although from a different source than the regular hazards.

So, I either have no electric locks or I'm disabled with alarm activated. Is there a way to reset the alarm to get it out of "locked" mode? Where is the signal/receiver located? During a previous service last year, the dealer noticed the problem with the door key not activating the locks and wanted a zillion dollars to replace them. I know it's a separate issue, but is it a matter of clean/lube locks and actuators or replace? I appreciate any help.

This is a great forum - thanks for the resources! I'm in.

Old 01-09-2006, 04:11 PM
Default RE: Reset Central Locking

I don't have answer, just more questions. Maybe, someone has the answer.