Volvo S40 The S40 is Volvo's most affordable sedan with all the amenities of a luxury sports car.

2001 S40 2.0T Auto - Refusing to idle & struggles to start

Search this Thread

Old 04-12-2015, 03:38 PM
Location: Between Mosselbay, Western Cape and Bloemfontein, Free State, South Africa
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2001 S40 2.0T Auto - Refusing to idle & struggles to start

First off, let me just state that I'm a complete noob to this car, so if any dumb questions follow any answers given, please forgive me. I've worked on much less complicated vehicles before, so not afraid to get the ol' mits dirty, BUT might need some pointers.

So here goes: bought a near pristine 2001 S40 2.0T with auto transmission about 6 months ago. Car's been lovely, about 210k kilometres on the clock, engine's clean, almost as new in terms of dirt, no oil leaks, nada and stock standard. However, I did notice reluctance to start in hot weather versus ease of start first thing in the morning. In other words, the car would start almost instantaneously first thing, but once it's sat in the parking lot and sun for an hour or more it struggles to take and I've noticed now on a couple of occasions a small puff of black smoke escaping the 'zorst once the engine takes, which in my head translates to overly rich fuel/air mixture in the combustion chamber, but like I said, I'm a noob, so I might be wrong here.