Volvo S60 & V60 The mid level Volvo sedan and wagon that offer power, performance and an exciting ride.

AC low side port - where is it

Search this Thread

Old 06-11-2015, 07:31 PM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default AC low side port - where is it

I went to my usual go to AC guy to see about getting a bit of refrigerant. To my chagrin he said no way --- he doesn't do Volvo's because you need to remove a bunch of crap to get to the ports.

He may be correct because it looks like the low side sits under the power steering / coolant reservoir. Really????

Old 06-11-2015, 07:58 PM
Super Moderator
Received 71 Likes on 63 Posts

Pulling up the reservoirs is too much work? Really?

Old 06-12-2015, 06:17 AM

My AC guy is one of those really good guys and I've been using him for 30 years. But when he is very busy, (which in 94 degree weather he is) he can be short tempered. Plus I know he doesn't like Volvo's.

Is he correct about the need to remove the reservoirs? IF so I tried to pull the power steering one up last night and couldn't get it to release from the coolant reservoir.

I was tired from doing a timing belt on a Subbie in the hot sun yesterday afternoon and didn't want to pull hard and break something.

Any tricks to it?

Originally Posted by ES6T
Pulling up the reservoirs is too much work? Really?

Old 06-12-2015, 06:41 AM
Super Moderator

You can probably access it without removing anything actually. I just move the reservoir to make it easier. It releases from the coolant reservoir by prying the top retaining tab and pulling up.

Old 06-12-2015, 03:51 PM

The AC guy is correct.....stupid design. I spent a bit of time in the sun trying to get the power steering reservoir ear to release from the coolant tank. No go. Everything pointed toward having it release but it is frozen in the spot and I didn't want to break anything.