Volvo S70 Made from 1998 to 2000, this sporty model replaced the 850 sedan and instantly became a hit.

low rpm and stalling when braking/turning

Search this Thread

Old 10-24-2011, 08:33 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default low rpm and stalling when braking/turning

I love my volvo, but I'm a student and I work part-time, so I don't have a lot of money lying around. I'm hoping someone here might be able to easily diagnose my problem and I can then proceed to fix it myself (if it is within my capability).

I have a 99 and for starters, it idles around 800 when just sitting. but when braking and making slow sharp turns, the RPM drops down to about 200. the latter is what worries me, as my car has completely seized up/stalled out while making turns on occasion. The power steering fluid and oil are both full. I've read a bit of what I could find on it, and have come across some things about the ETM failing often and possibly causing problems such as this.

also, a possibly unrelated problem/symptom: when starting my car, the interior electrical system does not always start up right away (windows, radio, wipers). It seems to be random. Sometimes it just starts up on its own, sometimes after a bump, and sometimes if i put the key in the other way. Could it possibly be a short, fuse or the ignition switch itself?

any help would be greatly appreciated, this is my 2nd volvo and everyone in my family has one. I would hate to have to get rid of betty white

Old 10-25-2011, 07:19 PM
Administrator
Received 30 Likes on 29 Posts

Do you have a CEL? If so, get the codes read ASAP and post them here. Also, I do believe you do have a problem with your ignition. Here is the link for that info:
https://volvoforums.com/forum/volvo-...70r-awd-58205/